Reflection upon the last eight weeks

My hope for working with children and families:

I see you.

I have watched the way you move, the small gestures and habits,

the expressions on your young face.

I see you.

I have watched your hands shape clay and dig holes and build towers and cradle baby dolls.

I see you.

I have watched you sweep a brush across a page with purpose and intent.

I see you.

I have watched your posture, your eyes when you address your parents, your friends, your teachers.  And I have watched the way you consider your reflection in the mirror.

I see you.

I hear you.

I have listened to the way you pronounce your name, the inflection in your voice.

I hear you.

I have listened to you sing songs and shout with happiness and cry, well because it’s okay to cry.

I hear you.

I have listened to the astonished little breath that comes with surprise and joy and discovery.

I hear you.

I have listened to you whisper to yourself as you draw a picture for your Mom.

Although I could not hear the words, I heard the determination and the love.

I hear you.

I touch you.

I have rubbed your back to help you rest and touched your shoulder to let you know

I saw that act of kindness.

I touch you.

I have held you when you wept when your parents dropped you off at school

but kept your new baby brother with them.

I touch you.

I honor  you.

You are you unlike anyone else I will ever meet.

You must be seen and heard and touched to be nurtured, to grow, to learn, to become.

I honor you.

Goal for the ECE profession:

Each morning, as we prepare our class, our lessons, our minds, may we reflect upon this class.

May we remember the words of our newfound colleagues – their stories from their childhood.

May we remember the hurt they felt at the hands of those who might have known better… done better… been better, had they paused to consider the import of their words and deeds.

May we see in each child we meet a hope held by parents and families – a hope for all their children.

And may we hold for that child that same hope.

And may we honor that hope with our best efforts each day.

And may we learn to forgive ourselves for the missteps we make.

Because, despite our best efforts, they will be many.

Oh, yes, and when we see injustice, may we learn to protest.

Because the hope for that child – those children – our children –

requires more than just our well wishes.

It demands our action.

Thank you.

I have read.

I have listened.

And I hope I have respected.

Today, this last week of this course,

I honor you for your work… your tears… your sweat… your laughter.

I honor you for your wisdom… your histories.

The world is already better today than just eight weeks ago.

We are better.

And with a last measure of quirkiness, I wish you

love and chaos,

gaman,

tierra y libertad, and

all power to the people.

Gregory Uba, August 12, 2012

6 thoughts on “Reflection upon the last eight weeks

  1. eceastewart says:

    Your talents are endless. Your thought provoking messages and challenging ideas, and clearly your talent for writing are admirable. I look forward to having another class with you along this journey. I wish you continued success on your journey.

  2. Alicia says:

    Wow…what an amazing poet you are! I appreciate you thoughtful comments and ability to raise thought provoking questions. I wish you the best and hope to speak with you again in future courses!

  3. Lovely poems. Thank you for all your diligent work in this class, especially your thought-provoking insights. Best of luck to you in your future endeavors!

  4. Sally Brooks says:

    Hi Gregory,

    And I honor you and thank you for giving so much to the field of early childhood and to the world. May you continue to grace us with you kindness, creativity, and endless wisdom.

    Sally

    P.S. Have you been published?

    • gregory uba says:

      Hi Sally,
      I’ve gotten a couple of credits for contributing to articles in Young Children and Exchange… thank you for your kind words. I look forward to sharing a future class with you and the other great classmates we had this semester. I thank you for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

