Week 8 Adjourning Part 2

I have enjoyed sharing thoughts on communication in this class.  The course covered things that are very relevant to me in my professional life right now.  I am in some ways an excellent communicator and in other ways absolutely horrible.  I recognize now how culture, disposition, and communication and collaboration strategies impact effective communication.

In some ways, I think that as a man in early education, I have some things to work on.  My communication style has been perceived as aggressive, even intimidating.  I have been considered aloof.  And of course, I truly am too arrogant for my own good.

And yet, a part of me wishes that the profession as a whole were more assertive.  Maybe not aggressive communicators, but direct and compelling and convincing and uncompromising.  As our budgets collpase and as sister agencies shut their doors, I can’t help but think that we might have done better if there were more like me that risked being considered foolish or bold or arrogant for the sake of demanding respect, funding and collaboration opportunities that seemed to slip through our fingers at times.  Perhaps I can do better at filtering my thoughts, at finessing my message.  But tell me, who will be prepared to step up into that space to speak the thoughts that others have?

Will of of us commit to standing firm and speaking with conviction when needed?  Will we demand our place at the collaboratives?  And having done so, will we take the risks we need to take to make a better world for children and families.

Perhaps I will hear from others.  My e-mail is gregoryuba@gmail.com

My blog:  https://gregoryuba.wordpress.com

Join our Men in Child Care Facebook Group!

Take care!

2 thoughts on “Week 8 Adjourning Part 2

  1. Andrea says:

    Hi Gregory, Your perceptive has encouraged me to look at thinks in a broader view. Thank you for sharing your expertise and your passion for children.
    Good luck on your endeavors,
    Andrea

  2. Shira says:

    Gregory,
    I have enjoyed meeting you in this class. I have appreciated your honesty and your passion for the field of early childhood education. I think you are an amazing communicator and I have loved all the personal stories from your life, I feel like I know you! Hopefully we will have more classes in the future. Best Wishes!

Leave a Reply

